fbpx

Fast Company’s 2019 Innovation by Design Awards honored SILQ™, a Steelcase chair that transforms seating through design.

2019 Innovation by Design Awards honor creative work at the intersection of design, business and innovation.

Through an innovation in materials science and a patent-pending process, Steelcase designers and engineers created a new high-performance composite material without the expense of using carbon fiber. The result is a chair that responds to the natural movements of the human body with only one adjustment— height.

« It’s an honor to be recognized by Fast Company alongside other groundbreaking innovators. The way SILQ is shaped, what it is made of and the way it performs are inseparable. Our team pushed the boundaries of materials science to create SILQ, a chair that’s more organism than machine. »

James Ludwig, vice president, global design and engineering

SILQ is designed for the way people work today. People are moving from one space to another and need a chair that is intuitive to use. The way SILQ responds to a person’s posture and stature is unique to each user because of the way the materiality, design and motion of the human body come together.

« The simplicity of this chair means anyone who sits in SILQ is going to be supported and delighted no matter where or how they are working. »

SILQ received an Honorable Mention in the Workplace category in Fast Company’s 2019 Innovation by Design Awards. Innovation by Design honors creative work at the intersection of design, business and innovation. Fast Company editors and writers spend a year researching and reviewing award applicants. This year’s applicant pool was the most competitive ever. SILQ is being honored alongside innovative companies such as Microsoft, Nike and Gensler.

« It always gives us great pleasure to honor the best design and designers working today—but this year was unique, not only because of the sheer number of entrants (more than 4,000!) but because of the strength of the works submitted. said  »

Stephanie Mehta, editor-in-chief, Fast Company.

You can find more information about SILQ on our page dedicated to this office chair.

Share this news :

Introducing Flex Collection: an office rebellion

See the realisation

Inspired ?

fbpx

SILQ™, un siège Steelcase au design révolutionnaire, a été distingué par Fast Company dans le cadre de l’édition 2019 des prix « Innovation by Design ».

Les prix « Innovation by Design » 2019 récompensent des produits créatifs au carrefour du design, de l’économie et de l’innovation.

S’appuyant sur un processus en attente de brevet, les designers et les ingénieurs de Steelcase ont créé un matériau composite haute performance aux propriétés semblables à celles de la fibre de carbone, mais au coût inférieur. Résultat : un siège qui épouse les mouvements du corps humain et ne nécessite aucun réglage à l’exception de la hauteur.

« C’est un honneur que d’être reconnus par Fast Company aux côtés d’autres grands noms de l’innovation. Le design, la composition et la performance de SILQ sont indissociables. Notre équipe a repoussé les limites de la science des matériaux en développant un siège plus organique que mécanique. »

James Ludwig, vice-président Global Design and Engineering.

SILQ est en phase avec les modes de travail d’aujourd’hui. Les employés étant de plus en plus nomades, ils ont besoin d’un siège facile à utiliser. Or SILQ s’adapte à la posture et à la morphologie de chaque utilisateur grâce à l’accord parfait entre le matériau, le design et les mouvements du corps humain.

« Sa simplicité garantit une performance et un confort optimaux en toutes circonstances .»

SILQ a ainsi reçu la mention « Honorable » dans la catégorie « Workplace » au palmarès 2019 des prix « Innovation by Design ». Les rédacteurs de Fast Company ont consacré une année entière à la recherche et à l’évaluation des différents candidats. Cette fois-ci, la sélection était plus compétitive que jamais. SILQ a été distingué aux côtés d’autres entreprises innovantes telles que Microsoft, Nike et Gensler.

« Nous sommes toujours ravis de récompenser les meilleurs designers. Mais cette édition s’est démarquée par la quantité (plus de 4 000 !) et par la qualité des candidatures. »

Stephanie Mehta, rédactrice en chef de Fast Company.

Pour plus d’informations sur SILQ, n’hésitez pas à consulter la page dédiée à cette chaise de bureau.

Partagez cet article :

Lancement de la collection Flex: la révolution au bureau

Voir la réalisation

Inspiré·e ?